Mon - Fri : 08:00 am - 4:00 pm
080 3213 3360 | 08055263709

The Formal Investiture of the Chairman, Committee of Vice- Chancellors of Nigerian Universities

On Tuesday, August 3, 2021, Professor Samuel Gown Edoumiekumo was officially installed as chairman  of the Committee of Vice – Chancellors of Nigerian Universities (CVCNU).

The event featured a number of visiting dignitaries, Vice – Chancellors , Council members, stakeholders and special guests.

Professor Yakubu Aboki Ochefu the Secretary – General of the CVCNU in his welcome address offered greetings on behalf of the Secretariat and highlighted that this was the first time in the 59 year history of the Committee that we are doing this, and this was a sign that the CVCNU has come of age and the Nation at large must begin to hear us and feel our presence and impact as a body. He also acknowledged that our new Chairman is a Vice – Chancellor that has paid his dues to the NDU in particular and the Nigerian University System in general and we are excited to have him lead our Executive Board and look forward to working with him.

Professor also stressed on the importance of positively disrupting the Higher Educational system globally, adding value to the Nigerian Nigerian University system by creating business ecosystems development that can improve  the financial bottom line of Universities.

Goodwill messages were offered during the investiture portion of the ceremony by the past Chairman of the CVCNU and Vice – Chancellors.

    • Professor Timothy Olagbemiro, the immediate past Chairman of the CVCNU and Vice – Chancellor, Edwin Clark University Kiagbodo, offered a goodwill message  on behalf of his Chancellor and University.
    • Professor Etebu Ebitimi Vice- Chancellor Bayelsa Medical University, Yenagoa congratulated the Chairman and provided greetings on behalf of his University.
    • The Vice – Chancellor University of Port Harcourt, delivered a goodwill message.

The brief citation and decoration of the New chairman was carried out by the past Chairman of the CVCNU Professor Olagbemiro and the Secretary – General of the CVCNU Professor Ochefu.

The Deputy Secretary – General Mr. A.O Adigun gave the vote of thanks, by appreciating all stakeholders and special guests present for honoring our invitation to the inaugural ceremony.